2022 Scholarships

The Gloria Shields NSPA Media Workshop will award the Jim Davidson Memorial Scholarship and the Jane Pak Honorary Scholarship at Thursday’s awards ceremony.

These scholarships are awarded annually to two graduating seniors who plan to further their journalism education at a college or university.

Established in 1994, the $1,000 Jim Davidson college scholarship is a memorial to Davidson, one of the founders of the Gloria Shields Workshop and a former leader in scholastic journalism. Davidson taught at Lake Highlands High School, where his yearbooks and newspapers were consistent award winners.

In 2010, the workshop committee established the $1,000 Jane Pak Honorary Scholarship in honor of Pak, a former Hillcrest High School journalism parent who has volunteered countless hours to the Gloria Shields Workshop. Her dedication and hard work have helped make this workshop what it is today.

These scholarships will be awarded to two graduating seniors who show evidence of ability and merit in the field of scholastic journalism. The recipients must have attended the Gloria Shields Workshop at least once. While the recipients must plan to attend a college or university, they do not have to major in journalism. However, they must plan to continue their study in the field.

Applicants must complete the entry form, attach requirements listed and turn in all materials by 1:30 p.m. Tuesday,
June 28

Finalists will be selected by the workshop committee, and they will have an opportunity to give additional information in a personal interview during the workshop. The winner of the scholarships will be announced at the awards ceremony of the Gloria Shields NSPA Media Workshop.

> Download the 2022 scholarship entry form.

Gloria Shields NSPA Media Workshop
National Scholastic Press Association • info@studentpress.org • 612-200-9254