2024 Scholarships

The Gloria Shields NSPA Media Workshop presents three scholarships to graduating seniors who excel in scholastic journalism and who plan to continue their journalism education at the collegiate level. Each scholarship is $1,000.

In addition to attending the workshop at least once, graduating seniors must submit an application including an essay and samples of their work. 

At the workshop, finalists are selected and interviewed by the workshop committee. Winners are announced at the closing awards ceremony on Thursday morning.

While recipients must plan to attend a college or university, they do not have to major in journalism. However, they must plan to continue to study in the field.

The three scholarships are named after highly respected individuals who helped build the workshop into one of the biggest and best in the nation.



This scholarship recognizes Jim Davidson, a national leader in scholastic journalism, and one of the founders of the workshop. He taught at Lake Highlands High School, where his yearbooks and newspapers were consistent national winners. Upon his death in 1994, the scholarship was established as a memorial.

2023 recipient: Blake Hinerman, Mansfield Legacy High School (Texas)
2022 recipient: Lydia Payne, Bryant High School (Arkansas)



As a journalism parent at Hillcrest High School, Jane Pak was a passionate advocate for scholastic journalism and an enthusiastic workshop volunteer. To recognize her tremendous impact on the workshop, the Jane Pak Scholarship was established in 2010. Her tireless support of the workshop continued until she passed away in 2021.

2023 recipient: Lily Coash-Johnson, Shawnee Mission West High School (Kansas)
2022 recipient: Rusty Gonzales, Prosper High School (Texas)



A long-time visual communications professor at Syracuse University, Sherri Taylor launched her career as the award-winning journalism teacher at Irving High School, where she taught for more than 15 years. When the workshop was founded, Gloria Shields invited Taylor to serve as a workshop instructor. At the time of her death in 2020, Taylor had taught at the workshop for 41 consecutive years. 

2023 recipient: Natasha Torkzaban, Lawrence High School (Kansas)
2022 recipient: Charles Shanks, McNeil High School (Texas)

Gloria Shields NSPA Media Workshop
National Scholastic Press Association
info@studentpress.org • 612-200-9254

Scholarship applications

The deadline for scholarship applications is 1:30 p.m. Tuesday, June 25, at the workshop registration desk. Applicants must complete the entry form, with these attachments —

1. A letter/essay explaining why you think you are qualified and deserving of receiving this scholarship. Include your college plans and what you hope to achieve in your career. Feel free to explain any personal circumstances that would make this scholarship important to you.

2. A high school journalism résumé. Include a list of all journalism classes you have taken, awards won, positions on publications staffs and any experience in media outside your school.

3. Brief recommendation thoughts from your adviser, though not necessarily a fully developed letter of  recommendation.

4. Portfolio of samples of your journalistic work. Include no more than five writing and/or video samples or no more than 10 photo and/or design samples. Yearbooks can be tagged to show your work. The portfolios and yearbooks will be available for you to pick up at the registration desk Thursday morning.

Download the 2024 scholarship application.