2021 consulting sessions

Once again, staffs may add 50-minute Meet the Expert sessions for specialized feedback.

Our team of experts will enhance your workshop experience and have helped student journalists and advisers from coast to coast produce dynamic publications.

Each consulting session is $50.

Consulting appointments are during the evening to avoid missing class instruction —

6-9 p.m. CT Sunday, June 27
6-9 p.m. CT Monday, June 28
6-9 p.m. CT Tuesday, June 29

Judi Coolidge

Judi Coolidge advised the nationally acclaimed yearbook at Bay High School in Bay Village, Ohio, for 35 years.

Her staffs consistently earned National Scholastic Press Association Pacemakers, Columbia Scholastic Press Association Trendsetters and Crowns and PIA recognition.

Coolidge received NSPA’s Pioneer Award, CSPA’s Gold Key, JEA National Yearbook Adviser of the Year and Great Lakes Interscholastic Press and the Oklahoma Scholastic Journalism halls of fame.

Coolidge has taught workshops for students and advisers from coast to coast for decades and developed curriculum materials. She is widely regarded as an expert on theme development and the yearbook she advised was known for edgy themes that drove innovative coverage. In fact, the staff dropped the name of the yearbook to place total emphasis on the theme statement.

Coolidge also worked as an education specialist for Balfour.

Linda Puntney, MJE

Linda Puntney, MJE, holds the distinction of retiring as the executive director of the Journalism Education Association twice.

She is an emeritus professor of journalism at Kansas State University, Manhattan. She served as director of Student Publications Inc. and the adviser to the Royal Purple yearbook and Update magazine.

From 1990 through 2010 the Royal Purple won both the Associated Collegiate Press Pacemaker and Columbia Scholastic Press Association Gold Crown, one of the only books in the nation to do so.

Puntney has received the NSPA Pioneer award and the JEA Medal of Merit, Lifetime Achievement Award, Carl Towley Award and the Teacher Inspiration Award.

She was awarded the CSPA Gold Key and the Charles O’Malley Award for Teaching and is a member of the College Media Association Hall of Fame.

Margaret Sorrows, CJE

With a passion for yearbook and photography, Jostens ambassador Margaret Sorrows, CJE, retired after 36 years of advising yearbooks and newspapers, most recently Hornet yearbook for 24 years at Bryant High School, in Arkansas. 

She was JEA’s 2014 H.L. Hall Yearbook Adviser of the Year. Her yearbook won numerous Gold and Silver crowns from CSPA, Pacemakers from NSPA and All Arkansas Awards from the Arkansas Scholastic Press Association. She also was runner-up to Arkansas Teacher of the Year. Sorrows received the Walter J. Lemke Award from ASPA in 2014 and the CSPA Gold Key in 2012. 

C. Bruce Watterson

Refine your yearbook or newspaper through private consultation with the “Yearbook Whisperer.”

Nicknamed by his colleagues in the industry, C. Bruce Watterson has been inspiring young journalists for years, particularly those editing yearbooks. 

A frequent presenter at state, regional and national conventions, Watterson has been chairman of the CSPA Crown Award competition, judged for NSPA and CSPA critical services and continues to maintain a rigorous schedule of workshops, consulting with advisers and staffs across the country and abroad.

Ray Westbrook

Ray Westbrook, the journalism instructor at St. Mark’s School of Texas, in Dallas, advises The ReMarker student newspaper, the Marksmen yearbook, and Focus, a single-topic special interest magazine.

Westbrook is the 2021 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year, as awarded by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association, and has received the Pioneer award from NSPA and the Gold Key from CSPA.

His publications have won Gold Stars, Pacemakers and Gold Crowns.

The holder of the Oltrogge Master Teaching Chair at St. Mark’s, Westbrook was named the Max Haddick Texas Journalism Teacher of the Year in 2010 and has just concluded 17 years on the advisers’ board for the Columbia Scholastic Press Advisers Association.

Gloria Shields NSPA Media Workshop
National Scholastic Press Association • info@studentpress.org • 612-200-9254