2020 Consulting Sessions

Registrants can add a 50-minute session with a consultant or faculty member on Tuesday-Thursday evenings and Friday morning.

Our team of experts will enhance your workshop experience, just as they have helped hundreds of student journalists and advisers produce dynamic publications.


Margaret Sorrows, CJE

With a passion for yearbook and photography, ambassador Margaret Sorrows, CJE, retired after 36 years of advising yearbooks and newspapers, most recently Hornet yearbook for 24 years at Bryant High School, in Arkansas. 

She was Journalism Education Association’s 2014 JEA H.L. Hall Yearbook Adviser of the Year. Her yearbook won numerous Gold and Silver crowns from Columbia Scholastic Press Association, Pacemakers from National Scholastic Press Association and All Arkansas Awards from the Arkansas Scholastic Press Association. She also was runner-up to Arkansas Teacher of the Year. Sorrows recently received the Walter J. Lemke Award from ASPA in 2014 and the CSPA Gold Key in 2012. 

Sorrows will consult with yearbook, newspaper and photography staffs.


C. Bruce Watterson

Refine your yearbook or newspaper through private consultation with the “Yearbook Whisperer.”

Nicknamed by his colleagues in the industry, C. Bruce Watterson has been inspiring young journalists for years, particularly those editing yearbooks. 

A frequent presenter at state, regional and national conventions, Watterson has been chairman of the CSPA Crown Award competition, judged for NSPA and CSPA critical services and continues to maintain a rigorous schedule of workshops, consulting with advisers and staffs across the country and abroad.


Ray Westbrook

Journalism instructor at St. Mark’s School of Texas in Dallas, Ray Westbrook advises The ReMarker student newspaper and the Marksmen yearbook. 

His publications have won Gold Stars, Pacemakers and Gold Crowns. Holder of the Oltrogge Master Teaching Chair at St. Mark’s, he was named the Max Haddick Texas Journalism Teacher of the Year in 2010 and has just concluded 16 years on the advisers’ board for the Columbia Scholastic Press Advisers Association.

Gloria Shields/NSPA Media Workshop
National Scholastic Press Association • info@studentpress.org • 612-200-9254