Home » Meet with the Experts

Meet with the Experts

A private, 55-minute consulting session with nationally recognized experts will improve your yearbook, newspaper or photography. The cost is $50 for the session and registration is required.

Judi Coolidge

Judi Coolidge taught AP Literature and creative writing at Bay High School, Bay Village, Ohio for 34 years. Yearbook was done as an extracurricular activity. Currently, she serves as an education specialist for Balfour Yearbooks. Her yearbooks won Gold Medalist and All-American ratings since 1977, as well as NSPA Pacemakers and CSPA Crown awards. In addition to receiving a Gold Key and a Pioneer Award, Coolidge was named JEA’s National Yearbook Adviser of the Year in 2002. Coolidge will consult with yearbook staffs.

Linda Puntney, MJE

Linda Puntney, MJE, holds the distinction of retiring as the executive director of the Journalism Education Association twice. She is an emeritus professor of journalism at Kansas State University, Manhattan. She served as director of Student Publications Inc. and the adviser to the Royal Purple yearbook and Update magazine. From 1990 through 2010 the Royal Purple won both the ACP Pacemaker and CSPA Gold Crown, one of the only books in the nation to do so. Puntney has received the NSPA Pioneer award, JEA Medal of Merit, Lifetime Achievement Award, Carl Towley Award and the Teacher Inspiration Award. She was awarded the CSPA Gold Key and the Charles O’Malley Award for Teaching and is a member of the CMA Hall of Fame.

Margaret Sorrows, CJE

With a passion for yearbook and photography, ambassador Margaret Sorrows, CJE, retired in May 2015 after 36 years of advising yearbooks and newspapers, most recently Hornet yearbook for 24 years at Bryant High School in Arkansas. She was the 2014 JEA H.L. Hall Yearbook Adviser of the Year. Her yearbook won numerous CSPA Gold and Silver Crowns, NSPA Pacemakers and All Arkansas Awards from the Arkansas Scholastic Press Association. She also was runner-up to Arkansas Teacher of the Year. Sorrows recently received the Walter J. Lemke Award from ASPA in 2014 and the CSPA Gold Key in 2012. As an ambassador for Jostens, she continues her love of teaching as an educational and creative consultant. Sorrows will consult with yearbook, newspaper and photography staffs.

C. Bruce Watterson

Refine your yearbook or newspaper through private consultation with the “Yearbook Whisperer.” Nicknamed by his colleagues in the industry, C. Bruce Watterson has been inspiring young journalists for years, particularly those editing yearbooks. A frequent presenter at state, regional and national conventions, Watterson has chaired the CSPA Crown Award competition, judged for NSPA and CSPA critical services and continues to maintain a rigorous schedule of workshops, consulting with advisers and staffs across the country and abroad.